Follow along as league reveals MVP, other winners USA News Today


Follow along as league reveals MVP, other winners USA News Today


Published 9:03 p.m. ET June 26, 2017 | Updated 1 minute ago

The inaugural NBA Awards are underway at Basketball City in New York. Follow along to see all of the award winners.

Note: The finalists for each award are listed below. The winners will be bolded as they’re announced.

Most Valuable Player

  • Russell Westbrook (guard, Oklahoma City Thunder)
  • James Harden (guard, Houston Rockets)
  • Kawhi Leonard (forward, San Antonio Spurs)

Rookie of the Year

  • Joel Embiid (center, Philadelphia 76ers)
  • Malcolm Brogdon (guard, Milwaukee Bucks)
  • Dario Saric (forward, Philadelphia 76ers)

Brogdon, the No. 36 pick in last year’s draft, had a rock solid rookie campaign and never seemed overwhelmed by the early trust coach Jason Kidd showed in him. He averaged 10.2 points, 4.2 assists and 2.8 rebounds on the season as the Bucks returned to the postseason. 

PHOTOS: Best of the NBA Awards


Show Thumbnails

Show Captions

Defensive Player of the Year

  • Kawhi Leonard (forward, San Antonio Spurs)
  • Rudy Gobert (center, Utah Jazz)
  • Draymond Green (forward, Golden State Warriors)

Sixth Man of the Year

  • Eric Gordon (guard, Houston Rockets)
  • Andre Iguodala (forward, Golden State Warriors)
  • Lou Williams (guard, Los Angeles Lakers/Houston Rockets)

Eric Gordon ensured that once James Harden and the rest of the Rockets starters got a breather, there was hardly any let up in the team’s offensive firepower. Gordon, in his first year with the Rockets, averaged 16.2 points and shot 37 percent from the three-point line. 

Most Improved Player

  • Rudy Gobert (center, Utah Jazz)
  • Giannis Antetokounmpo (forward, Milwaukee Bucks)
  • Nikola Jokic (center, Denver Nuggets)

Of all the players who took steps forward this season, it was Antetokounmpo — who took gazelle-esque strides — that stood out the most. Not only did he increase his per-game averages across the board (16.9 points to 22.9; 7.7 rebounds to 8.8; 4.3 assists to 5.4; 50.6% shooting to 52.1%), but Antetokounmpo emerged as a legitimate NBA superstar while leading the Bucks to the franchise’s winningest season since 2010.

Coach of the Year

  • Erik Spoelstra (Miami Heat)
  • Gregg Popovich (San Antonio Spurs)
  • Mike D’Antoni (Houston Rockets)

D’Antoni, coaching his first season in Houston, led the Rockets to a 55-27 record — a 14-win turnaround from last season. The Rockets boasted the second-best offensive rating in the NBA (111.8 points per 100 possessions) and made an NBA record 1,181 three-pointers.

The winners of the six new fan-voted awards were announced during the show, too. 

Dunk of the Year

► Victor Oladipo over Dwight Howard

Block of the Year

Kawhi Leonard blocks James Harden

Assist of the Year

► Draymond Green to Stephen Curry to Kevin Durant


Follow along as league reveals MVP, other winners USA News Today

Source link

Follow along as league reveals MVP, other winners USA News Today




Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!